Where Dreams Take Flight!

ICAO English

ICAO English is the language proficiency of pilots. This language proficiency examination is mandatory for all pilots in order to communicate with and contact international aviation and air traffic controllers and must be done in accordance with the ICAO regulations. 

Let's start now!

Currently, each pilot flying internationally must have a minimum level 4 of ICAO English language proficiency check on their license. The recurrence of undertaking the ICAO English proficiency examination is determined by the level achieved:

Level 4 – every 3 years

Level 5 – every 6 years

Level 6 – unlimited validity

The proficiency check consists of 3 parts:

Conversation and description (from aviation industry)
Listening to aviation communication – pilot must be able to answer the examiner’s questions
Reading and understanding of an article from manual, aviation regulation, or aviation publication

What’s included?

Play Video